Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Faculty Recital – Jonathan Kramer (cello) with Anatoly Larkin (piano)

February 17, 2019 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

NC State Department of Music teaching professor and cellist Jonathan Kramer (understanding music, world music) will present a faculty recital with part-time lecturer and pianist Anatoly Larkin (class piano) on Feb. 17 in Price Music Center. The recital will include music by Rebecca Clarke, Samuel Barber and Richard Strauss. Free and open to the public.


Jonathan C. Kramer, cello, is a teaching professor of music and arts studies at NC State University and adjunct professor of ethnomusicology at Duke University. As a cellist, he has performed as principal of the Tucson Symphony and as a member of the San Francisco Opera and Ballet Orchestras and the NC Symphony. Among his teachers are Gordon Epperson, Aldo Parisot, Raya Garbousova, David Wells, Madeline Foley and Maurice Gendron. He has concertized extensively as recitalist and chamber musician, and his performance piece, An Homage to Pau Casals: Artist of Conscience, for cellist and narrator has been presented at London’s Queen Elizabeth Hall, the 92nd Street YMCA in New York City, the Kennedy Center in Washington D.C. and elsewhere. With colleague Alison Arnold, he is author of the World Music e-textbook What in the World is Music? He is a two-time Fulbright fellow (India, ’83 and Republic of Korea, ’96), and a 2018 recipient of the Raleigh Medal of Arts.


Anatoly Larkin, piano, has been studying and making music from around the age of four. After studies at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in the U.K., Anatoly completed his doctoral studies in piano performance at the University of Minnesota under the advice of Alexander Braginsky. In Minnesota, he was a member of the new-music ensemble Zeitgeist, fulfilling his passion for contemporary and avant-garde music. He continues to be an active improviser, having collaborated with trombonist Patrick Crossland, clarinetist Pat O’Keefe, violinist Yuri Merzhevsky and other artists. In 2005, he moved to Raleigh to join Zenph, a music technology company. There he developed a software/manual process, subsequently trademarked as Re-Performance®, that made it possible to hear performances of golden age pianists in famous audio recordings (such as those on wax cylinders, or from 78s) live again, with the help of state-of-the-art reproducing piano technology. He also teaches music at NC StateUniversity. His recent projects include a presentation of piano works by Russian composers in their early 30s (featured as a radio special on “The Classical Station”, 89.7FM), piano recordings with piano technician Marc Wienert, chamber performances with musicians Jonathan Kramer, Fred Jacobowitz, Alex Gorodezky and various members of NC Symphony Orchestra, as well as the continuing collaboration with living composers, including John Starosta and Craig Bove.


February 17, 2019
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , ,


NC State Department of Music


Price Music Center, Room 110
2620 Cates Ave.
Raleigh, NC 27695 United States
+ Google Map